Purko

By Purko

Høyås tunnel

I went exploring in Høyås, I had been told there was a tunnel at the far side of the forest so thought that sounded like a great place to run to. Thanks to an informative geocache, I can tell you that the area was once had an active mining industry, with the minerals quartz, feldspar and mica of primary interest. Feldspar was used for making porcelain. Mica was glittering on the ground, I imagine it's used to make jewelry. The tunnel opens up into an enormous depression, at the bottom of which is a campfire; it would be a wonderful place for a fire and quite sheltered too! Extras are looking down the tunnel from the other direction, you can see all the minerals in the different coloured rock; me having a go at timed mode. Finally a lake that I ran passed on the way to the tunnel, on the far side you can see a large family group enjoying a day in the forest having a fire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.