SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Derelict bath

This is the Laconium at Hardknott Roman Fort.
Whenever I see this place I am astonished and cannot get my head around what it must have been like.
How great it would be to have a Roman Baths up there now.
As I headed over my stomach still lurches at the thought of us managing to get the little camper up there years ago  and camp overnight at Wrynose Bottom. I simply don't know how we did it (and never again!).
I then went in search of St.Catherine's Well (extra) and came to the conclusion we just don't do wells like they do in Ireland.
Walking on, I headed up above Boot and got a bit lost. I managed to map read my way out of a bit of a pickle but not before exhausting myself struggling through some dense stretches of bog and what felt like a forest of molinia. If you think I'm making mountains out of molinia hills ... give it a go ... 
Another dreary day though but still warm with full autumn colours looking good and lots of fieldfare settling in.

I've belatedly tagged this into IHWM as it seems a shame not to have St Catherine's in the holy well canon even though it's not the main blip and was taken outside the holy well hunting season.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.