Regents canal

We left Croydon after a good breakfast at the hotel and made our way to Euston. Mass in St. Aloysius church. After mass I took photos of the entrance of what used to be my secondary school in Phoenix Rd. We went down a little alleyway (strictly out of bounds when we were at school) and managed to see the back of the school building, only visible because they are rebuilding! Then on to Kings Cross!
I met with my school friend at Kings cross and she first showed me around The back of the station. All old buildings converted to an art school. I saw the canal and we went along this for a bit, and back. Really beautiful autumn colours, reflections etc. We went to a lovely place for a coffee and rest and then walked along the canal in the opposite direction, past Camden Lock, the Zoo and emerged not too far from Lords Cricket ground. Walked past this and saw my old house. We lived there from when I was in primary school till i had done my O Levels. What used to be a virtually black building with big empty arches to go in is now a beautiful red brick with white arches etc and a combination thingie to get in! Three young people were coming out and i asked if they would take us in to see the inner courtyard area and they were charming. They took us in and we could see where I had lived ... i told them all about the building as it used to be!
I so wish my mother could have seen it! (Last extra)

We walked on to the Edgware Road were we ate in a health food type place and it was delicious! Walked on to Little Venice and were back with the canal. Going back to Camden Town. Were we exited the canal walk and joined compact crowds. From school I often used to walk with friends along to there and so we retraced those steps just stopping at a gorgeous little coffee place with funny disparate furniture! Our table was old school desks. The sort with ink well holes!
On to the school and back to St. Pancras through the hotel there and on to Kings Cross were Ann left me to wait for Ro. I waited by platform 9 3/4!!
Ro and I ate in St. Pancras. Le Pain Quotidien and we are back in Croydon!!

32666 steps a record!

Not sure that you will see pink in the photo! Surely somewhere? Please follow the usual procedure, just go back a couple of entries for the link. And click for BCAM!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.