Put your feet up and sit awhile

Early in the summer, someone put this chair and footstool down at the beach.  Someone vandalized it.  Someone fixed it.  I've walked by it many times, have never seen anyone sitting in it, have never sat in it myself, although I've been tempted.  There's a lovely view across and down the harbour from here, and I thought it was very thoughtful to place it there.  I'm sure it does get used.
A beautiful morning and afternoon, so wonderful to have sunshine.  It was a bit chilly when I walked but perfect for some work in the garden.  We've had more rainy days than usual for October, and I've been wanting to get the garlic in.  G got the beds ready for planting while I separated the cloves.  I didn't plant as much as I have the last couple of years but should still have enough to last a year. 
I heard part of an interview with Edward Burtynsky this morning, and G heard the full interview.  He's Canadian and known for his huge photos of industrial landscapes.  G googled him while I was out walking and showed me his photos when I got home.  Incredible how beautiful his photos make these landscapes look. 

"...for the average person in our industrialized consumer society, looking at Burtynsky's photos is like a squeamish meat eater walking into an abattoir.
They're a brutally beautiful acknowledgement that every gleaming skyscraper, every sleek car or aircraft, and the sculptural curves of a highway interchange … is made possible by ripping open the earth and gouging raw materials and energy out of it.
"At the same time, Burtynsky's are not polemics or jeremiads. They're documents of an industrial age and a way of life defined by consumption.
They are also great works of art."  (CBC Radio website)
If you're interested, here's a link to some of his photos:
Industrial landscapes 
It's worth clicking on some to see them large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.