Rose for Joan

As some of you know from my blips, my Grandma in Australia died on Wednesday. It's her funeral tonight (tomorrow morning in Oz). Before she died she paid for her funeral, flowers and everything, including a rose for each of her grandchildren for her coffin.

So, this rose is for my Grandma, Joan, and for the family and loved ones she leaves behind - her partner, my aunt, uncle, nephews and niece and of course my mum. We'll be thinking about you tonight guys.

But my gran had a wicked sense of humour and an evil laugh and I don't want this to be a maudlin blip - so I wanted to tell you one of the most embarassing stories of my young childhood ... well embarassing to a seven year old.

- - - - -

When I was about seven years old my mum, four year old sister and I went to surprise my gran after work. She was a secretary at a company in Preston somewhere.

My mum had parked the car and primed me, when I spotted grandma, to run up to her and give her a big hug and tell her I loved her.

As we waited in the rain the odd person came out as it passed five o'clock. No Grandma.

The just as the exodus thinned to a dribble, she appeared. So I rushed up to her as I was primed, wrapped my arms around her and told her in a loud clear voice "I love you grandma".

"I love you too" said a voice behind me followed by an evil chuckle.

There was grandma, standing with my mum and sister, with me hugging some other entirely unrelated older lady who looked completely baffled.

I went scarlet and muttered a sorry, to the amusement of my mum, grandma and generally everyone standing around...


- - - - -

LOTD: Caged Bird's purple flower blip is another lovely flower today and such a great colour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.