Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

My Father's Archives #2

First of all, thank you all so much for the stars and hearts you gave me for the first picture from my fathers's vast archive of images. I shared your comments with my mum, and she wants you to know that she is grateful for all your kindness.
It's difficult for me to decide which one of the images I should share with you next. There is so much to choose from. I decided to show you first the photographs I associate my fondest memories with and to use them as an opportunity to tell you a little bit about my childhood.
Travelling was always an adventure more than forty years ago. There were no paved roads back then, and something always happened: The Jeep got stuck in a mudhole, the engine overheated, not to mention the countless flat tires. To get from one town to the next could take an entire day. One time the axle bearing dismantled on a road like the one shown in the image. We spent hours sifting through the sand looking for the tiny bearing balls. Somehow my father (my hero!) reassembled the wheel and we were able to continue our trip.
I'm well aware that today's image is not the most spectacular one. All you see are a overloaded Jeep and some white people sitting and crawling around in the sand. With one exception: A man with a hat standing tall looking at the câmera. That's Elisamar. When my parents met him, he was a teenager without a home and without a future. My parents took him in, offered him a home and sent him to school. Whenever he could, he helped my father working with local farmers. Later he became a teacher and served his community for many, many years. He is just one of the many lives my parents were able to turn around. He later married one of my mother's assistants. Elisamar is now retired and lives in Brasilia, Brazil's capital.
As an extra, the same scene from a different angle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.