Halloween

Also known as All Hallow's Eve, or All Saint's Eve; the eve of the Christian feast of All Hallows Day. Not something of which I was aware as a child growing up in rural New Zealand. As a teenager I became aware that in the United States this was a night when children went trick and treating, and I felt vaguely superior that no such idiocies were practiced in my country. 

By the time my children were (while still small) old enough to get caught up in it, those activities had become more common. We coped for a while by allowing our very large and very timid standard poodle to lie on the verandah in front of the door which was seen from the street. One of the great advantages of living in an apartment building is that door knocking is difficult. For most of the rest of the year that can be a disadvantage, especially if we are expecting a package.

It was after I had taken this photo from the deck, and cropped it into panorama format, that I processed what is the day. It seems a wonderful sky to mark Samhain (a Gaelic festival some think was taken over and Christianised), and any other significant event that anyone wishes to apply to this day in our modern calendar. Worth a look large

I'm still struggling with the lurgi, and hoping it will be much better before the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.