A concrete love affair

By PhotoIain

The old road

Viewing east from the outskirts of Earl Shilton we are looking towards the homely hills of Leicestershire's Charnwood Forest..

This road, the A47, has long been bypassed so to relieve the town from through-traffic! Under the lovely autumnal sunshine the view of this old road couldn't help but spark a little flame of nostalgia. After all It's always quite a comforting place to be, nostalgia, reflecting on times when life was more simple and easier. Like the town and bypass in reverse, contemporary life's patchwork of varying complexities was on my mind, the road and the many memories it holds yielded much more positive thoughts.

Like the many summery early nineties Saturday evenings my Grandpa would drive my Brother and I back home, perhaps even my cousin too, certainly with my Grandma all packed into a green Renault 5 or a blue Vauxhall Belmont or his silver Fiesta! It was nice to look back, looking east!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.