Spirit Dog

I stopped this morning at the Bethel Cemetery, close to our house, to try to catch a Halloween-ish photo. Kirby got out and walked the grounds with me, welcome for the short exercise.

This grave drew our attention, and I stopped to check out the info on the stone. It reads "Georgiana, Wife of Joseph McHenry, Died September 7, 1866, Aged 18 years, 1 Month." Georgiana died 150 years ago...at 18. No clues how she died at such a young age. 

Kirby sniffed around the grass and stone. Then he did what he has done before - he laid down on the grass above her grave, and settled in. This is not the first time he's done this; many times in cemeteries, including Tom's dad's grave in Hood River, and the Pioneer Woman's grave at the base of Mt. Hood, Kirby lies across the graves and gets a faraway look in his eyes. He did it today - he lay down, then ignored me, looked away at the horizon, and seemed to tune into some vibe I couldn't pick up. It took me several minutes to get him to move - he seemed content with hanging out over the grave of Georgiana McHenry, dead 150 years.

We have seen Kirb as a true Spirit Dog. Even as sensitive as he is, he acts differently around these burial grounds, like he's made a connection. I can't argue with a Spirit Dog on a mission. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.