The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Caen Hill (Friday 28th October 2016)

Caen Hill is a spot that I often drive past as it is on several of my routes to and from home. On this occasion I was driving back from shopping and having visited my friend C. in her role as interior design consultant, concerning the outbuilding.

I stopped there because I was keen to try out my yellow Pentax K-50 that had come back in the post that morning. It had been repaired, updated with software, overhauled, serviced and had its sensor cleaned. All the settings had been returned to their default, which I hadn't realised. I had a bit of on the hoof clock-setting and customizing to do, though I didn't notice the focus mode was not on my preferred setting until I was looking at the results. I was pleased to see some unwelcome artefacts that I had previously had to clone and heal from images had gone.

I have put one of the test shots in Extras (taken at 24mm in APS-C crop) but for Blip I have chosen this telephoto shot taken with another camera.

L.
1.11.2016 (1547 hr)

Blip #1957 (#2207 including 250 archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #002
Day #2409 (452 gaps from 26 March 2010)
LOTD #1192 (#1318 including 126 on archived blips)

Caen Hill series
Canals series
Kennet and Avon Canal series
Devizes series
Landscape series

A Visit To Caen Hill, 28 October 2016 (Flickr album)

Taken with Pentax K-50 (Red) and Pentax HD P-DA 55-300mm F4-5.8 ED WR lens

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
The Buzzcocks - Ever Fallen In Love (With Someone You Shouldn't've) (recorded 26 July - 6 August 1978)
The punk movement came as a welcome breath of foul air back in 1976, associated with passion and energy rather than musical accomplishment, but it is surprising how much of its music stands up today in terms of proficiency. This single from the album Love Bites, played on this day, has a great clarity, thanks to great performances and expert production by Martin Rushent. It was inspired by a line of dialogue from the film Guys And Dolls, seen in an Edinburgh hotel room while on tour:  "Have you ever fallen in love with someone you shouldn't have". Pete Shelley wrote the lyric in a van outside the post office the next day.

One year ago:
Sunset Fail #2

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.