YoungerDaughter

By YoungerDaughter

Slugs and rainbow awards.

On the way to school this morning, Theo ran over a slug with his scooter. I happened to say something about the slug crying as he was hurt, which started a long conversation about slugs and whether they cry or feel pain. So I have been reading up on slugs and have found that despite popular belief that slugs can't feel pain, it is highly likely that they can. And as for crying, they have no tear ducts so I'm guessing not. But I was fascinated by all the other slug anatomy facts I learned. For example, did you know that slugs eyes (optical tentacles) can be re-grown if lost and are also used for smell. And a slugs mouth has a radula (tongue like thing) that is covered with approximately 27,000 tiny tooth-like protrusions that are called denticles.
How amazing is that!

On a separate note, Theo won a 'rainbow award' today for good behaviour at school. And I've spent the day blending vegetables ready for Henry's weaning at the weekend.

The photo is of Henry because squashed slug seemed less appealing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.