Teeny Tiny Tuesday Toadstools

When we set off for a walk (along the coastal path - down to Landscombe Cove and back up the steep hill to fields across the road - and home via the back lanes of the village) I wasn't thinking about Blip's weekly Tiny Tuesday challenge. But when I came across these teeny tiny toadstools, I knew I'd be joining in this week. (Thanks to ninniex for hosting TT75.)

The red one is a waxcap (Hygrocybe), but I can't decide if this is vermillion waxcap (Hygrocybe miniata) or a scarlet waxcap (Hygrocybe coccinea). The writer on one site I looked at explained that the Latin name "doesn't mean a lot of look-alikes, but it should"!

I've no idea what the even tinier creamy-coloured toadstool is (see my Extra). In both cases I've included my finger nail in shot for scale.

We had a fabulous, if exhausting, walk - and it remains incredibly mild for 1st November, albeit hazy, with the sun arriving late in the day.

Thanks for all your kind comments, stars and hearts, even, for my spooky yesterblip. Now I have one hour to re-energise before table tennis tonight. Should sleep well after that lot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.