Jillyblip

By JillSutherland

Kathmandu Kora Cycling Challenge

Laura and I created a "Banners to Bags" Team to take part in the Kathmandu Kora Cycling Challenge. This is a 50km cycle around and through the Kathmandu Valley. This year the challenge was sponsored by Save the Children and all money raised went to create save birthing homes in rural areas of Nepal.

Laura and Tara from CWIN created the Banners to Bags project to raise awareness of the problem of plastic wastage in Kathmandu. They recycle Banners from NGO and International Organisations conferences and fabricate them into trendy re-usable bags. All the money taken from the bags is given to developing child rights programs in CWIN. We cycled the challenge with our bags to raise awareness.

I hadn't been mountain biking in ages so I loved going down and up the hills, through the mud and into streams. Cycling in Kathmandu might seem crazy but it's not as scary as it seems, it's really exciting. I have since got a bike so I can cycle everywhere I go....it's the best way to travel!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.