Cahills Lookout Panorama

In all the years that I have been shooting pictures it had simply never occurred to me that I should stitch some images together to create a panorama. Usually I shoot with the fisheye or wideangle lens and just crop.

It was such nice weather again today that Norma and I wandered down to Cahills Lookout. Anyway, I had this sudden uncontrollable urge to try a panorama. My camera doesn't do in-camera panorama processing but I knew that Photoshop Elements would be up for it, whereupon I set the camera to manual, twisted on my heels to make four reasonably careless exposures.  Look ma!! No tripod!! 

When I got home (PSE 10) I went "New/Photomerge Panorama", selected the four requisite images and clicked "Okay". I then cropped off the unruly bits and what you see above was the final result. LARGE is probably a good way to go when viewing the picture.

Now it's probably not a striking result and I also know that for many of you, Photomerging to Panorama is a routine procedure. Nonetheless for all of you that HAVEN'T tried it before (like moi) I thought this might be encouragement to give it a go. Now that I know I can do it, a monster has been created and I shall seek to do something in future which fully takes advantage of the method. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.