Miyajima

I've really struggled to choose which photo to post. This one won in the end because I like the light. The similar shot not long after high tide is in the extras.

Miayjima, an island close to Hiroshima, has one of the most popular (and probably most photographed) shrines in Japan. It also has a mountain with amazing panoramic views and some very tame deer. (The deer will try to eat any food that visitors are carrying and stick their noses in any open bags.)

The other extras: 
A view from the top of Mount Misan - I would post a panorama but I'm not happy with how the software joined it up and will have to try some adjustments on the original images as I don't know how to fix the final one
Very cute little girls in traditional dress who had to sit still through a ceremony for their families in the shrine and were given balloons at the end. (The light was really bad (I've edited a lot) and it's out of focus but they're so cute that I had to include them!)

If Koreans like to have the latest hiking gear for going walking, Japanese don't let the most inappropriate footwear stop them from going hiking. The summit of Mount Misen is a 30 minute walk from the top of the cable car up a steep, uneven path. I saw a woman in high heeled boots, two men in suits and polished black shoes walking that part, and, climbing the whole mountain, not just the final 30 mins was a woman in black, fluffy sandals with platform soles!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.