Wednesday

Absolutely gorgeous walk to work this morning! It is a good job I left early as I stopped to take many photos.

Today was brilliant! 

Maud is in her nineties and is as fragile and gentle and delicate as you can possibly imagine. Her poker straight hair is pure white and her eyes are huge and blue. Although her face shows her age, she has the expression of an innocent child. She is beautiful and I adore her.

Maud hasn't got a clue what is going on around her. No idea where she is, who she is, who we are but is accepting and happy.

Today I gathered the ingredients to make a cake. Everything was measured out, rather like a cookery demonstration on TV.  I placed it all on the table in front of Maud and she transformed before my eyes! She shot to her feet, took the bowl into the crook of her arm and beat the butter to a pale cream! I added the sugar and then eggs and flour and she did the rest.

She was so animated! I could have wept! My manager and I both got all watery eyed!

Just brilliant!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.