Caught in the act...

Although in may ways our lives seem relatively unstructured, I'm always rather amused by the regularity of events. This time last year (according to Blipfoto) I was going down with a nasty cold virus, and, on cue, last night I again started feeling the first twinges of a cold. Fortunately, it doesn't seem to be too bad, and I've managed to carry on pretty much as usual, with just the occasional sneeze and sniffle.

As predicted, the Indian summer slid away yesterday, to be replaced by the icy fingers of winter. There was a grass frost this morning, and I couldn't resist a morning walk by the river, complete with coat and gloves! The reflections of the Norway maple plantation in the water were stunning, and I was convinced I'd got my blip (see extra).

But later in the morning I spotted the nuthatch, and sat by an open window for a while, trying to get a decent image. I only took about five shots, but was quite pleased with this one, which shows it about to fly off with its sunflower seed. I suspect this might be one of the offspring from the two pairs that were nesting at Thorpe Wood. And now that it's discovered a reliable source of food, I think it might be with us for the winter!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.