shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Mum

Posting this shot breaks Blipfoto rules. For those who clicked through from Facebook or Twitter, the aim of Blipfoto is to post a single photo taken that day. This photo wasn't taken on September 12, it was taken one day earlier, but I had to post it for this day, I couldn't think of a better tribute. And in case anyone is confused, I am back blipping (posting blips for dates in the past, but as is my habit, I write in the present tense, as if I was posting on that day, but with the benefit of hindsight). It's taken a while to be able to post this.

Mum didn't wake up this morning. Today, when we were planning to have a family dinner to celebrate her 70th birthday last week (and my brother in law's birthday too). She was tired and her back was sore over the weekend, but otherwise she was fine. She ordered new shoes online yesterday, and laid out her clothes and her breakfast last night. Last night we watched the Paralympics, talked about taking some family photos at the birthday dinner. She stayed up to watch another gold medal come in, then said good night and went to bed.

As hard as it is for those of us left behind who expected years more with her in our lives, it is how she wanted to go, so I thank God that she didn't hang on in pain, but died so peacefully in her sleep. And this photo of her wearing her 'hat' (yes, it's a plastic tub!) to make Callum laugh captures her love for her family, her sense of humour and daftness. As I said before, I can think of no better tribute, though I will post more in days to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.