Castle!

After 69 days of my trip, I missed my first train! Given that in London I miss the train I was aiming for probably every other day, I haven't done badly. And with the Japan rail pass, you don't pay anything for tickets so can just get on the next one. I had to wait an hour which was a bit annoying.

When I got to Himeji I but my backpack into a locker at the station and headed for the castle.

Himeji Castle is one of Japans oldest and best preserved castles. It looks like it came straight out of a fairytale. If you visit, here's a tip - stay in Himeji and get there as the castle opens or if you go on a day trip, don't miss the train! It was soooo busy. There are narrow wooden stairs to go up the main castle keep and there were queues all the way up and down.

After visiting the adjoining gardens (which are starting to get some nice autumn colours), I collected my pack and got the train to Kyoto.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.