Memories

We do not usually collect souvenirs like this but there  is a story behind this - so bear with me.

I started going to this area in Cornwall on holiday from the age of 6 months and we went back to the same place every year for over 40 years.  Initially we caravanned but subsequently my parents bought a bungalow.

We were keen sailors and used to sail our dinghy from Padstow as well as this small beach called Boat Bay at the end of Harlyn Bay.

One day we noticed a cameraman with a tripod on the cliff above the beach and didn't really think anything of it until the following year when we found our picture on postcards in all the shops.  Apparently this image became one of the best selling postcards and subsequently appeared on jigsaws,  chocolates and souvenirs like this thermometer for many years.

The thermometer had pride of place on the mantelpiece of the holiday bungalow for many years until my Mum finally sold the place and I "inherited" this heirloom.  Sadly,  my Mum sold the bungalow before the "Rick Stein' effect pushed house prices through the roof.  It is now a tea room.

In the photo are my father,  my two brothers and me.  I must have been about 15 at the time.  We owned the boat with the white sail which is a 14 foot 'Leader' class.  The Mirror dinghy with the red sail was also bought by my father a  couple of years later.

Happy memories!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.