Thoughts elsewhere

First frost this season but that also meant a lovely sunny day. Angie took off for a ride with Sultan and Luna while I went to Ottobeuren with Flash.

First the dog walk, the Schickling Walk which is outside the town, just meadows and a river. Unloaded Flash who promptly saw an approaching boxer and his lady owner of about my age. As fhis is the spot where Flash was so badly attacked last year, he fled back to the car and laid down cowering under the rear bumper. I walked to him to wait to see where the pair was going, as it turned out they stopped about 20 metres away by the only other car. Then the woman blurted something at me which I didn't catch so moved closer and said "don't worry mine is just frightened and waiting"  to which she shouted angrily "get hold of your dog and put him in the car straight away". Puzzled I asked why? "Because mine wont get in my car until yours is out of sight". I replied I didn't think that was necessary and as the shouting started again, I simply looked away. She opened the back of her van and the boxer jumped in! My loud laugh didn't go down well and she took off, just as a friend Marion turned in to the road. Marion is very well known in Ottobeuren amongst the dog community, a charming, friendly, helpful animal lover. Out came her Border Collie, Esme but no sporting pug, Amy but instead another Collie who she was dog sitting today. Marion calmed me down and told me the story of the poor boxers owner. Flash reappeared delighted to see old friends and off we five set for the walk in the sunshine.

After the walk drove in to town, to the Basilica to light a candle for RedFlash and her family. In other circumstances,  I could so well envisage her enjoying a tour of the basilica and even more some of the orchestras and choirs who perform here every year. The last time I lit a candle here in March it was on the East Wing side altar. Today it was the West Wing, hoping my prayers and thoughts can get to Winchester via the most direct route.
   
Rest of the day spent trying to clear leaves. The frost had helped to bring down quite a few. By evening things were looking quite smart but a quick look upwards showed just how much more there is to succumb to gravity. The red sky this evening suggests it will be another cold night.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.