Tudor Rose

By TudorRose

You've been PigeonED!

Catch the pigeon...

Bit of a normal blip for me today after my busy few days. I was teenless they had much better thing to do than hang around with the oldies, apparently today so me, D and Ed headed off to the local park. Having Ed at the age of 9 keeps us grounded and means we can still be immature silly ourselves. Hence came my blip of the day. Eddy pretending he can fly like a pigeon, scaring them at the same time made for an amusing photograph.

I think I have a thing for pigeons, this being my second blip featuring the winged vermin (as some call them, flying rats). Maybe its their skinny little legs, reminds me of someone special... You know who you are! Other pigeon blip

Ok some boring interesting facts about pigeons;

The largest species of pigeon is called the Crowned pigeon and is turkey sized 2-4kg. Imagine that pinching your pasty outside greggs!

Pigeons survive for approximately 10-15 years but the O.A.P badge goes to one which lived till it was 33.

A famous WWI homing pigeon named Cher Ami finished his distinguished career by delivering a vital message: The location of the famous Lost Battalion. That mission alone is credited with saving nearly 200 human lives! Cher Ami was awarded the French Croix de Guerre with Palm for his heroic service. He died of his extensive battle wounds. <<< almost made me cry!

A grand ceremony was held in Buckingham Palace to commemorate a platoon of pigeons that braved the battlefields of Normandy to deliver vital plans to Allied forces on the fringes of Germany. Three of the actual birds that received the medals are on show in the London Military Museum so that well wishers can pay their respects.

Male pigeons have the rare ability to lactate, producing milk for the babies just like the females do! I questioned it too but it is true.

Racing pigeons can maintain speeds of 50 - 60 mph!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.