Approaching Wellington

S won second prize in the New Zealand Poetry Society annual competition, along with a couple of highly commendeds for other entries. Tomorrow the collection of poems from the competition is being launched at a celebration in Wellington. So we have come to wellington for it. This is a great honour for the poet with whom I share my life; an honour which in a totally unbiased way I believe is fully deserved.

She travelled to Wellington on her own at midday; I had to stay on at the unit for a few more hours before I could also get on a plane to Wellington.  S spent the time with friends. My later flight meant that I could capture the sunset as the plane passed between the southwestern end of the North Island and the northwestern aspects of the South Island, before turning east across Cook Strait before landing northwards at Wellington.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.