Found and Lost

By Paused

Trapped - at the gate to all mystery

edit: large is the way to go


When I was about 18 I read a pocket version of the Tao Te Ching.   Some £1.00 version from WHS Smith - no idea who the translators were.  It had a  lasting effect on me.  

Recently, I decided to pick it up again and spend some more time with it, but with whats regarded as a good translation (circa 1972).  

As I explore it again I'm going to have it as a gentle theme through my journal for a while. No set cadence, no agenda or timescale but just perhaps a chapter a week, or a month, or whatever.  I'll read the chapter then keep it in mind for a while, thinking about it and how it might manifest itself into aspects of my life including blipping.

This week I've been thinking about the first chapter in the book.  Personally I think the extra on 1st Nov Entry portrays how I instinctively think about the first chapter the best. (That was taken in the same day I received my new copy of the book).  

Perhaps this image of traps, potential freedom, human practicality and natures beauty starts to convey some of the paradoxes in chapter one... or perhaps not :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.