People at Work #16 : : The Bit Wizard

His name is Stephen and he really has been a huge help. He has found almost all of my pictures, except for the ones from the Canadian Rockies which are still inexplicably missing. He has explained a lot about the new Safari Photos. It is all there, but not immediately obvious. One now has to click on a few more things in order to find things that once happened automatically. Is this progress?

I am inclined to say no. It is  a cynical way to get us to pay for extras that used to be included. The new Mac Book has fewer ports so if you need more than one USB cord plugged in at a time you have to buy an adaptor. And of course I have to do that because I ran out of space on my computer's hard drive and had to buy an external hard drive which is plugged into one of those ports. Supposedly this move toward minimalism is a move toward better design, but how does an extra port or two interfere with the design?

I have had two conversations today that have lead me to believe that we are moving forward so quickly with technology that we can't keep up with ourselves. I feel the only way to solve problems with a computer is to meet face to face with someone. And blipper Nana K commented that perhaps the only way to reliably save photos is to print them...we've come full circle back to the shoebox in the closet...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.