St Mary - Climping

Mr U&L had to go to another model railway exhibition in Angmering today for a couple of hours to 'Man the Layout' (I swear he loves being chairman of the Model Railway society!). 
While he was busy 'running the trains' I went on to the pretty little village of Climping to take a look at this beautiful church.
I was very lucky, as the church is sadly usually locked these days due to past vandalism but the Verger was there getting ready for the service tomorrow so she let me in so I could photograph the windows,
Climping church stands in flat countryside next to Ford open prison and a former naval air base, with a large Aeroplane mounted outside (the naval air base that is, not the church!)  It has a beautiful tower built about 1170 with clasping butresses at 3 corners and a stair turret at the forth. 
It is a beautiful old church, with a lovely churchyard and well worth a visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.