An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

From the Mists - The Mighty Magnificence

Shot of a lifetime, very early wintry, frosty mists in the New Forest, near Brockenhurst. (First train out there) Not your tame deer of Bushey Park, but wild beasts that are incredibly camera (and human) shy.

Unless you're on heat and are strutting your stuff, marking territory with your urine (not me, him!)

I had my (recently bought from David 'RockArea') 120-400mm big lens trained on this very photogenic group of grazing mares, when in sauntered Lord High and Mighty!

Calm kept my nerves at bay and the 1.75kg lens behaved perfectly as he strolled to my right - and then spotted me. He hunched up on his haunches and stared straight at me - and urinated.... telling me who was boss!

I followed him for two minutes, not once taking the unsupported camera from my eye, thankfully the OS system kept the camera shake at bay! 

Apart from the initial three or four shots, which were him emerging from the mist, the rest are against a fairly banal background, making this one much more pictorially special.

I was actually in a state of mild shock afterwards, for pretty much the rest of my time in the New Forest. I did get the autumnal colour shots I wanted but they so pale into insignificance after Mister Magnificence majestically marched into my viewfinder...

Far too tired for bonfire night fireworks - but am actually very glad of that! IF you're going to a display, wrap up warm, keep safe and enjoy it!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.