Appropriate

Back blip for yesterday.

Being the first Saturday of the month, it's our general meeting for the Friends of Belair NP.  It's a very busy day, which I kind of enjoy and kind of hate.

The bane of my life is taking minutes.  I hate it with a passion, but it has to be done.  It's a bit of a secret that I suffer from a very mild form of facial recognition blindness, and it takes me forever to "learn" a new face.  And I find it very hard to recognise if someone is talking to me, or to the person next to me.  Gets me into all sorts of trouble - you have no idea! 

Anyway I got through it with a minimum of fuss, and wrote up the minutes as soon as I got home, so I didn't forget anything.  It got a bit complicated at times.

This image is appropriate because our guest speaker is very famous in these parts - Prof. Chris Daniels.  He's written a gazillion books, and has a very high profile in the scientific community.  He comes to talk to us once a year, and it's a great privilege to hear him speak, so we are always packed out.  His subject yesterday was Flies.  It was fascinating - and confronting.  Some of his images were horrific.

I doubt very much if my little fly would bite humans and infect them with parasites and heavens only knows what else.  The flower buds are a vanilla lily.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.