The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Japanese anemone

I've blipped Japanese anemones once before, and so today I wanted to show them in a different light. One of the buds was opening in the morning sunshine, and the unfurling petals were backlit by the low sunlight. The unopened buds remind me of drum sticks that might be used on a percussion instrument in an orchestra.

Wifie had departed early for Yorkshire, to help tend to her mother Nancy who has not been 100% these last few days. I stayed at home to work while I waited for a parcel to be delivered. I spent lunchtime in the sunshine in the garden accompanied by Reg the tortoise, and photographed some of the hoverflies that were visiting the scabious flowers. I was keen to get a good photo of Volucella bombylans, a near perfect mimic of a bumblebee, but it eluded me.

Before the rain arrived in the early evening, I managed an hour at the allotment grappling with the millions of dock and creeping buttercup seedlings. A little and often is what people tell me an allotment needs, alas all I am managing is a little not very often.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.