People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Getting There

As I drove to the conference, I developed an allergic reaction to an antibiotic I was taking. I started itching, and my lip swelled up a bit. The whole thing was rather surreal: I was listening to Charles Duhigg's "Smarter, Faster, Better," which is quite engrossing. As through a haze, I realized I was scratching my chest and neck, then I observed my upper lip felt funny. I flipped the driver side mirror on the sun blocky thingy and noticed it was swollen. Uh-oh. As LM used to have an egg allergy, I am well-versed in all things anaphilaxis. Whatever this was, it was not IT, and not happening very fast, which was good. I was in the middle of nowhere, and I really wasn't sure what to do. Should I stop? Call 911? Should I try to figure out where was the nearest hospital? I decided to floor it instead. By the time I was passing a small town and a hospital road sign, the swelling and itching subsided. I got to Mobile about 30 minutes faster than I was supposed to, according to my GPS's initial estimates...

Once I got to Mobile, I got my doctor to call in a different medicine to the nearby pharmacy. I was told, in no uncertain terms, I MUST NOT take another one of my original antibiotic pills. As if!!!

This picture was taken on my walk there. It is a medical center (ha!) properly protected with fancy ironwork for the night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.