OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Pumpkin & Apple Waxwing Food Sculpture

I've had apples out to attract waxwings for a while but with no luck. The waxwings are about but they just haven't found the apples yet.
Pumpkins were being sold off for 10p after Halloween so I thought the birds might like some. They haven't. I know birds in the US do eat it but not here, starlings were turning up their beaks. I did like the shapes though.
Soon after taking this shot I went to the library. I took Vladimir Nabokov's 'Pale Fire' from a shelf. I couldn't remember if I'd read it so had a look at a few pages. The start of Canto I read...'I was the shadow of the waxwing slain/By the false azure in the windowpane'.   probably the one work of literature in the whole library that mentioned waxwings in the first line and I chose it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.