Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Howe Hill: Brimstone

This afternoon I finally did the 30 mile drive to Howe Hill, which is an area just outside Ludham on the River Ant, part of the Norfolk Broads. Although a small hamlet with houses and farms, Howe Hill is known well for the Norfolk Broads Environmental Study centre which is run there from this stunning house, and also for the number of Swallowtail butterflies in the area. The Swallowtails feed on Milk Parsley, which is abundant in reed beds in some places on the Broads - Howe Hill is one of these.

There's a visitor advice centre run from Toad Hole, this lovely small thatched cottage (previously a reed-cutters cottage). Toad Hole was my first port of call when I arrived, as I wanted advice as to whether there are any particularly good spots for seeing the Swallowtails. The guy there said that Swallowtails have been hardly seen there so far this year but that butteflies in general, as in so many other placess, have been almost non-existent until just a couple of weeks ago.
So I decided my best bet was to head to the river where most of the reed beds are, rather than go into the more wooded parts. On leaving the cottage I spotted a Buddleia. Having only had 2 short sightings of Peackock butterflies in my garden this year and not a single butterfly on my Buddleia, I was delighted to see this one smothered in butterflies - mostly Peacocks. There were many flower heads with two on like this, and at one pojnt I spotted one with four of them! They were everywhere - on the bush, on nearby brambles and nettles. It was a joy to behold. Here's one of them with its lower spots hidden - and this is another with all four wings and spots fully visible.
There were also a few Commas, so I was really happy to get this photo of one as I've been wanting to since I saw a couple in my paddock the other week. This is a side shot of one. There were even two or three Brimstones, and I was delighted to grab a shot of one. It's that shot which I chose as my blip, as they're such a rare thing for me to see.

On reaching the staithe, which is there for mooring of the numerous Broads cruisers, I walked to the end of it to follow the footpath which leads beside the river. At the end of the staithe is this lovely thatched boat house with a nearby seat. Here's the rear of the boathouse with one of the many small windmills which are dotted along the river behind it.

As I followed the footpath towards the first windmill cruisers went past. I watched them disappear round the bend in the river, as with this one, and couldn't help but envy them. There were of course the obligatory swans on the river! At one point a yacht came towards me - it looked lovely framed by the undergrowth and shrubs along the edge of the river so I had to grab a shot. At the first windmill I sat down for a while. I'd seen many large brown dragonflies patrolling the air at speed, and suddenly one decided to come down and sunbathe on the small area of wooden decking in front of the windmill. I crept up slowly, crept further - and it shot off again! Aaargh. I did get a shot though of the windmill looking upwards from below it - I rather like this one!

Soon after the second windmill the path is fenced so one can go no further and I had to turn back. On arrival at the boat house I sat for a while on the seat there and watched as more boats went past, visible in the gap between the boathouse and a tree further along, as with this one..

Then I retuned to my car. Along the way I spotted this lovely veined pink Mallow. Then under a large Oak tree I saw this touching memorial. I guess the 'friend' it refers to must have been a regular visitor and perhaps his/her ashes are scattered by the tree ... or perhaps it's someone's dog who they used to walk there with regularly ...

I'd been there 2 and 1/2 hours, but despite walking very slowly and scouring all around, there'd been no sign of a Swallowtail. But it's a fabulous place - I wish I'd been there before!

It's the best time of year for seeing Swallowtails. So on Bank Holiday weekend, instead of visiting the watermeadows at Grantchester in Cambridge as planned, I think I'll make up a flask and some food, and return to spend a whole day there. I can always go to Grantchester over the next few weekends - hopefully the weather will hold! lol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.