Flowerpower's journal

By Flowerpower

Past adventures

I moved house a few months ago and it gave me the chance to go through all of my stuff that I had kept for years. Packing and unpacking was a slow process as I enjoyed delving into my past and revisiting old memories.

When I was 17 I was selected to go on a British Schools Exploring Society expedition to Zimbabwe for six weeks. I had to raise the money to get there and ensure I had all the right kit. (My mosquito face net was never used on my face but was an excellent strainer for the rice). We camped by the Zambezi for most of this time and got used to being surrounded by elephants and hippos.

I had forgotten that my friend and I volunteered to be Quatermistresses for that time and we were in charge of rations. This little book contains the plan for every meal we ate. As far as I can tell we ate a lot of Vienna sausages because they came in cans.

These are some of the keepsakes from that trip and a return trip to Zimbabwe and Botswana when I was 21. I hope to return to these fantastic countries one day, but in the mean time, love a good book about African adventures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.