Red Bellied Sap Sucker

I was working upstairs in my office all day and I heard this Woodpecker before I saw him. He was about eye level with my upstairs deck so I was able to get a pretty close up shot. Actually, I think I was distracted long enough to take about 100 shots.....but I liked this one because he seems to be scrunched down with a puffed out belly.....and his beak is in the hole where he was searching for sap or for little bugs. You can also see the two fresh holds he had just made to the left of his beak in the photo. This is the tree that the expert said was not going to survive because of Birch Bore.....perhaps the Sapsucker will develop a big appetite for Birch Bore?
Today started out sunny and I was torn about keeping my commitment to myself to work in the office all day; luckily it got overcast quite quickly so staying inside was less painful.
Thanks for visiting and for the nice comments and stars for the old red barn yesterday!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.