digitaldave

By DigitalDave

Then and now - Beulah Street Harrogate

Having seen a number of 'then and now' images where a very old image is compared to its modern day equivalent, I thought I would try one myself.
The above image of Beulah Street in Harrogate was taken around 1904, and the lower one was taken today.
It's a shame the modern street furniture (i.e. that pesky 'no entry' sign!) gets in the way, and it is also a pity to see how the buildings have been butchered somewhat over the years. Most of the bay windows on the first floor have long gone.

I was curious to know what a 'Fent Shop' was so looked it up. 'Fent' is a local term meaning remnant of fabric which, in years gone by, was measured and sold by weight.

I have included a colour version of the same thing in today's extra, although I prefer the mono one myself. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.