Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Whole Foods #38 ~ 11:17 AM

I tried taking my shot from the other direction - not head on like I used to, but from the right rather than the left. Turns out that means I'm shooting basically into the sun, which wasn't at all satisfactory. So those of you who enjoy seeing what's on sale will just have to do without. You could almost see the sign if that woman with the grocery cart weren't there, but... Anyway - the stuff in front today was mostly tree shaped rosemary plants. They're basically starting in on Thanksgiving, but with a possible carryover to Christmas. I see one can reserve a fresh turkey. I've never reserved one. In my experience, if you want one there are plenty available when you just go in there the Tuesday before Thanksgiving. That said, we may be looking at a vegetarian Thanksgiving this year. Or maybe a soupçon of turkey for the meat eaters but vegetarian stuff for the rest of us. Because - #2 Son's girlfriend is a vegetarian; The Husband maintains he doesn't ever really want to eat meat; we haven't eaten red meat in years; #2 Son declared he is now a vegetarian along with his girlfriend - and since he's basically living here (long story) at the moment, I've stopped buying even the occasional rotisserie chicken, which was the only meat we ever ate anyway. Except turkey on those two special holidays. Fish is still permitted, apparently - not sure why - don't fish have faces? #1 Son, so far as I know, still eats meat of any sort, but won't care if there isn't meat. The only problem I have with not eating meat is that I'm not really crazy about things that are pretending to be meat. So no tofurky or veggie burgers for me. I've been making things like enchiladas and chili and lasagna and spaghetti and the like without meat forever, but I'm not sure what all will comprise a Thanksgiving dinner besides the usual sides. Maybe it'll be salmon or something as the replacement for turkey. 

I voted on my way into town. It was a pleasant and lively scene. One of the perks of voting in our little town here is that you see neighbors you hardly ever run into otherwise. And all the people checking you in and manning the booths and whatnot are neighbors too. 

And now we wait to find out the result. Eek.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.