Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Dr. Júlio

This is my friend Júlio. I didn't want to shoot a traditional portrait because Júlio is so much more than his face. I first met him in the ER when I fell down the stairs of our home and broke my arm. When Dr. Júlio came to see me, I was completely mesmerized by his appearance. He is a small man (5ft2in) and a little overweight, not what one would call a handsome man. But his presence seemed to permeate the entire room. While he treated my arm, we talked about translation, philosophy and literature. That's how a very painful incident gave birth to a wonderful friendship.
This picture shows Júlio in one of his favorite spots, where loves to spend his free time thinking and meditating. I think it represents perfectly one part of who he is.

To all my American friends in horror about the outcome of the elections: Don't despair. Here in Brazil we are used to this kind of political turmoil and we have learned to survive and live in spite of those who lead our country. We know that life is a daily struggle. And one of the most important lessons we learned is: Don't lose your humanity. To encourage you, I want to show you another picture as an extra: Dr. Júlio and his wife Erika (also a physician) in a moment of tenderness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.