A sunny morning in Wellington

I woke later than usual this morning, and the sun was well risen and lighting up the buildings adjacent to the hotel where I stayed. Meeting continued until mid afternoon and we left for the airport with the first results from the US Presidential election having been announced. And reported to us by one of the group, who was following it on his iPad. By the time I got on the plane back to Auckland, it was being deemed too close to call (results were not in from the West Coast at that point). My drive home from the airport was the slowest I have ever experienced. It took me almost a half hour to actually exit the airport precincts, and then followed the usual slow trip on the motorway at peak traffic time. By the time I walked into the apartment, the election was essentially over, and the unbelievable now has to be believed. The Us has joined the UK in demonstrating to the world that arrogant male bullies blaming the poor and immigrants for the failure of the capitalist system can persuade the electorate that further shifting wealth from the common person to the already wealthy is sane and appropriate, because there is a remote possibility that the ordinary person might become such a wealthy parasite. 
I fear for the future of my grandchildren.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.