life begins at...

By Sej

America

My love affair with America began in early childhood watching Sesame St and has continued since.

At the age of 17, I decided that I wanted to do American Studies at University, despite questions & concerns from family & friends alike "what's that, where's that going to get you?"

Since then I've travelled numerous times to this great country - the memories are endless.

From being at college in 1989 in the Mid West & getting to see one of my heroes - Lou Reed, in concert through to Mardi Gras in New Orleans in 1994.

In 2000, after a broken heart, I criss crossed alone from east coast to west & back on Amtrak & even visited a palmist in Trump Tower who told me I should introduce yoga into my life as a way of mending my broken heart. Ironically in 2005, I went to New Mexico to do yoga teacher training!

In 2002, I went to Boston on my first ever holiday with Mr J & last year we went back to celebrate his birthday in NYC.

I wonder what that palmist would say today to heal my saddened heart

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.