CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A wary young nuthatch

I sat in the cabin while waiting for Andrew to visit this morning. He wants to borrow some of my old scaffolding equipment. It was a delight seeing him when he finally arrived, but he only had time for a few minutes of chat instead of the usual strong coffee and time to recount our lives since we last met.

I had seen the woodpecker from the house earlier and wondered whether it might appear. Sadly I was out of luck, but instead saw a lot of the smaller garden visitors including this nuthatch which visited the nearby sunflower stash we provide for them.  This bird is still young and rather exploratory.  The other nuthatches seem to go straight to feed but this one likes to wander up and down the branches, even eyeing me up as he does so. sometimes I can be standing only a few feet away and he will fly onto a branch.  I would love to see if they would eat food from my hand, which used to happen to me on Hampstead Heath in London many moons ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.