The Path Forward

....how do we find it?  

It was a very long night, and after the results we feared were confirmed, it was difficult to sleep.  Wendy and I met with our former boss for lunch and we all agreed to not discuss the election but to focus on catching up on all the other things in our lives.  After this pleasant diversion, I came home and took a welcome nap.  But now I have awoken and nothing has changed, and I feel overcome with sadness because everything is changed.  We are absolutely stunned and reeling to find that the country we loved and thought we knew is no longer recognizable.  I am so sad and angry, something I have never felt after an election before. ….disappointment, perhaps, but not the sense of loss that I feel this time.

I am not sure how we find our way out of this mess and I am not sure I will be able to overcome the feelings of anger I have towards the people who have brought this upon us. It is said that those of us who live in the cities and along the northeast corridor live in a bubble, and perhaps that is true, because we never thought this outcome was possible… clearly, we are out of touch. The future has become a scary place and I am grieving for what might have been, but this is the reality and so we must find a way to deal with it.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.