Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

Mahmut

So, this is probably the worst quality photo I've ever posted to blip.  I still don't have the whole selfie thing down yet. Apologies for that.  But, here goes…

Today I drove from Memphis, TN to Columbus, OH in a deep, dark haze.  Traveling across the country this past week has been interesting and eye opening.  After checking into a hotel just off I-71, I went outside seeking clarity and some fresh air.  I met Mahmut, from Iran and we talked for 30 minutes.  Clarity gained.  Mahmut fled Iran in 1979.  He came to America, and re-created his entire life. He went from pharmaceutical research in Iran to long-haul trucking around this great country because that's what provided immediate income.  He's a U.S. citizen now.  

We talked and laughed - he has quite a charming sense about him - and we shared stories about growing up on our respective dairy farms.  Yes, Mahmut lived on a dairy farm in Iran, me in Upstate, NY.  The clarity gained by me this evening is simple, perhaps, but meaningful to me nonetheless.  Two humans from different cultures.  Sharing laughs and stories about our lives.  Unafraid of one another.  Trusting, connecting, giving our energies to the universal collective of humankind.  The future may look bleak today, but as long I give 100% of myself to this world each and every day, there is hope.  There is hope in knowing that my children and wife are doing the same thing in their own way.  It's what we can do now. Create, love, live each day without hatred, without fear of other cultures or religions, other beliefs.  That's it. Sorry for the rather lengthy post and the poor photo, fellow blippers.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.