Hen's teeth

Enormously privileged to do the job I do for the Friends of Belair NP.  It enables me to take part in awesome study groups, and to go out with the experts and Rangers, and see stuff - gorgeous stuff- that I would really not notice, or not realise its rarity.

This gem is an orchid, smaller than a 5 cent piece, called Tiny Pink Fingers, but I prefer the Latin name of Caladenia pusilla.  Tiny Pink Fingers, although kind of descriptive, makes you think ho-hum, just another orchid.  Whereas it's really rare, and I never would have seen it had it not been pointed out to me by a knowledgeable Ranger.

There's another view of it in extras, plus a second orchid which looks different but probably isn't, because there seems to be a lot of diversity within the species.

These all look rather nice in large, if you have the time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.