Rodents rule

By squirk

To the theatre

At yesterday's West Norwood Feast, I chatted to my neighbour and asked if he was busy. He said that he was in a play at Southwark Playhouse, and its subject matter was dark. Feeling spontaneous, I bought tickets for this evening's showing of Orca. Yes, the tale was dark, but the telling of the tale was captivating from the moment I stepped into the small theatre and my feet crunched on sand and shells. The play is set on a remote Scottish island and the set looks just like jetties I've explored and cycled past on many a holiday. Only one of the actors is Scottish, but the accents of the others are terrific. I complemented Simon on his Highland lilt. I found it fascinating to talk with him about the character he plays. The play is new and Simon Gregor, my neighbour, is the first to play the character – he's exploring and forming the personality with every performance, even reacting on the audience's feedback. I recommend seeing they play – it's on until 26 November.

Fred thought he was going to see the musical that is also playing in Southwark Theatre. When he looked up the theatre website, he saw only that production. Poor thing – he doesn't like musicals. He was relieved when I updated him. I asked Simon if he'd ever been in a musical and he said he was the first person in the UK to play Timon in The Lion King, so he first sand "Hakuna Matata" on stage here. Yay!

I must go and see more theatre! Fred has asked me to be our social secretary and book us some tickets. I accept the challenge.

On the bus on the way home, we stood up and the last stop and opposite us on the aisle was Simon! We'd parted at the theatre and gone to two different bus stops but, as we got on the bus via the back stairs, we didn't spot each other. Bonkers.

The inset pic is of Juno – he found the one sunny spot in the garden this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.