stujphoto

By stujphoto

Hidden Industry

Yesterday morning because my back was playing up I decided to take a wee walk around the village and was surprised to find several industrial buildings hidden away behind the village hall. A number of the buildings have been taken over by a trailer company and an industrial storage unit but there are still  a number of derelict buildings around including the one I have blipped. I tried to research some of the history of the village and found that there was a large paper mill in mid-Victorian times which was burnt down and then there was a distillery and maltings. I'm not sure whether this is part of the remains of that complex but made me feel a little remiss that having lived here for nine years I was not aware of these aspects of the village.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.