Vertical Puddles

By SkyRider

Feline flattener

You've got to feel for the small Bedfordshire town of Sandy.  As if it wasn't bad enough that their name writes cheques that their 60-mile distance from the sea can't honour, Sandy Beds sounds incredibly uncomfortable.

I had to do an impromptu dash to Sandy at lunchtime as the solicitor handling Dad's estate is there and a document had been delayed by Royal Mail's Special Delivery not being as special as they claimed.  After handing the paperwork over, I asked the receptionist if there was somewhere nearby to get a sandwich.  She leaned over and asked, in and almost conspiratorial tone, "How would you like to go somewhere where they serve lunch for three pounds?"

So it was that I discovered Chunky's,.  To call it a greasy spoon feels a little insulting as it was clean and friendly but the menu was built along the ham, egg and chips line - I was half expecting a Viking to pop up from behind the counter to offer me spam, spam, spam and spam.  The food may not have been fancy but the helpings were huge and I'm astonished that I can still walk.  They had one item on the menu which was so large that if you finished it not only did they waive the cost but they named it after you.  It's currently called a Craig 2.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.