Schoenies

By Schoenies

Mother and Baby!

Once again I spent most of the day at our Addo National park (today with my sister M) and, as promised in my blip of 14 Aug, here is an elephant shot! We had wonderful sightings of herds of elephants but the babies are always my favourite! This one is a newborn and kept very close to its mother all the time. At this stage the babies can't use their trunks - they just dangle like a piece of rope and it can be very funny.
The Addo park consists of 180 000 hectares and was originally started to protect the last remaining African elephants in the Addo area. Nowadays the Big 5 are found there and many buck species. in fact the reserve now extends to the sea and so it is said the Big 7 are found there - including the Southern Right Whale and Great White Shark!!
Hopefully it won't be too long before I go there again!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.