Brave Heart

Glen Nevis is a beautiful valley. I used to climb the hills here (the western Mamores are most easily accessed from the Glen) regularly. Shamefully Caley has never done any of these Munros.

I was approached by a friendly young couple on a holiday from Kent. They had a few questions about the area. Aware of the "tourist path" to Ben Nevis they were considering taking a walk up the mountain. I urged extreme caution to the extent of disuasion. R my colleague then wisely suggested they take a trip on the Nevis Range gondola thus getting a taste of a mountain environment and snow (which they had not seen in Kent for five years) in relative safety.
They asked if I had ever been to the top of BN and I said yes, a few times.
They gasped in astonishment.
I explained that in hill walking circles most folk seek a challenge, a variety of terrain and the chance to enjoy it in solitude and that the cumultive ascent of such a day could often exceed that of the Ben. (I also had to digress to briefly explain about Munro bagging.)

I do hope they can come back and bag at least this one Munro in summer months. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.