wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Fragile

Today I was going to post about how nice it is to know your eggs have been near real chooks, but now I want to share the blessings of my evening instead.

I was out for a friend's birthday dinner this evening, and got a flat tyre on my way home. Apart from the time i ran into a curb and slashed the driving instructors tyre on my first ever driving lesson, this was a first. Frustrating, yes. Annoying, definitely. But also most certainly far better than it could have been.

- I noticed the steering feeling funny straight away, before I'd even driven 10 metres. People had told me it would feel funny, but I always thought I wouldn't notice. I noticed.

- The street was quiet and not hideously dark.

- I had one competent passenger to help.

- I had a lesson in changing tyres from my dad a couple of weeks ago.

- another friend left his phone charger in his car and saw us when he came out to get it. He and my passenger were able to work out the peculiarities of my French car and get it all sorted out.

- my phone battery was on red, but the torch only completely drained it moments after the last nut was tightened.

- the drizzle held off for the 15 minutes it took.

- all the bits were there and the spare was useable.

So those are the blessings of this particular evening, for which I am thankful. Thanks Dan and Humphrey, you guys are champs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.