FLOWER FRIDAY - ON ARMISTICE DAY

I had seen in our local paper that there was a window display in The Bridal Boutique in Faringdon Road commemorating those who had died in service in various wars in the past and thought that it would be a good idea to incorporate this into my Blip for Flower Friday.

I decided to go into the shop to tell them what I was doing, and received a very warm welcome from Jane, the owner, and Anita, one of the sales consultants.  The display is made up of dozens of hand-made poppies and is the work of Cath Knight and Charlotte Boswell - who both work at the boutique.  It is beautifully done and the Bridal Boutique has donated £500 to the Royal British Legion's Poppy Appeal. 

The sun was shining brightly today, so it was difficult to get a decent photograph, because I was getting a reflection not only from the building that used to be the Methodist Church across the road, but also from passing traffic.  I went back into the shop and mentioned this to Anita, who said that they had stood in the middle of the road – on a traffic island – and pushed the button for the pelican crossing so that the traffic stopped and then took the photograph – a great idea!

I was glad to have my long zoom camera with me, so did as Anita had suggested and this was the result.  As usual, I got some strange looks from passers-by, but am quite used to that by now!  

So thank you to Jane and Anita and all those involved in this wonderful effort to commemorate those servicemen and woman who died to give us our freedom.  

I met Mr. HCB in town later and we went for a coffee at Coffee #1 – there was a notice on the door to say they would be observing the silence so we stood for 2 minutes at 11 a.m. on the 11th day of the 11th month remembering the fallen in all wars  – a poignant moment.

Blood red poppies
     cascading down - 
          a poignant reminder of
               so many ambitions
                    unfulfilled…..
today we stood in silence
     to honour all those
          who gave their lives
               so that ours 
                    might be fulfilled. 

© Maureen Iles 11/11/16

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.